Plans for my blog in 2016.

Hi guys and girls. After a couple of months writing and experimenting with blogging, I’m getting a sharper idea of what I want to do with this blog.

About film reviews:

I started in June, 2015, and simply wrote about almost every movie that I watched, but I want to stop that now. Crappy movies such as Ted 2, Vacation, Insurgent and more are not really worth the time, and I want to be more selective with the movies I review, so that I don’t swamp everyone with reviews and keep things interesting.

The movies I will focus on, will be mostly from 3 categories:

  1. Major releases that get all the attention. This is just fun stuff. Movies like Star Wars: The Force Awakens, or the new Tarantino The Hateful Eight, they are not only movies, but also public events. They are big chapters in the ongoing story of film history. It’s exciting to follow this.
  1. Under the radar, small releases that are still interesting to watch. I hope that these movies are nice recommendations for people. Movies like The Voices, Out of Nature, Robot & Frank… Mostly stuff from the last decade. I also include non-American animated movies here.
  1. Difficult, artsy fartsy stuff that some consider masterpieces and others consider pretentious bullshit. Movies like The Tree of Life, The Fountain, Synecdoche, New York and so on. Difficult movies, that nevertheless give a lot of food for thought. I like diving into these things and ruminating about them. I also include old movies here, like The Third Man.

About book reviews:

I’ll just continue the way I do now. I read one or two books a month, so the frequency of book reviews will remain lower in general than of movie reviews. I hope this doesn’t turn people away from the blog. If I read 2 books but see 15 movies in a month, there’ll naturally be more movie reviews.

The Travel blog:

I gave this one a new layout, and I’m loving the way it looks now. Have a look! I got a lot of material that I want to put up, from New Zealand, Poland, Russia and more.

Please tell me what you think! Do you have any tips for me? Is there stuff that you would like to see?

This entry was posted in Books, Essays, Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Plans for my blog in 2016.

  1. Remco says:

    I’m sad to see the crappy movies go because I like to compare them to my own reviews, but I understand the need to regulate and prioritise.

    The new travel site is looking good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! yeah, if I really feel like I have something interesting to say about a crappy movie, I will still write it down. I don’t want to constrain myself by self-imposed rules and I’ll just let my feelings guide me in the evolution of the blog.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

