The Liebster Award!

Liebster Award

OMG! OMG! Remco from Silver Screen Savant has nominated me for a Liebster Awawd! Thanks Remco, your blog entries are like the first rays of the new rising sun. If your gravatar were a pillow, I would put it on my couch.

The Liebster Award is an award for bloggers. It helps to discover new blogs and to build a sense of community in the blogging world.

The rules are simple: answer these questions about yourself and nominate a bunch of other bloggers for the award.

Remco’s Questions

If you could only read one genre for the rest of your life, what genre would you choose?

I would read science fiction. The sheer diversity of ideas and imagination in this genre keeps inspiring and dazzling me. I honestly believe that science fiction can be good literature and that it creates a new kind of mythology that comments upon the modern world. Science fiction is a process that allows us to come to grips with new technology and new science, to explore the implications of science in a way that normal scientific communication cannot do. To grasp what new scientific developments mean for normal everyday life, you need imagination and the time to write it out, and science fiction is what you end up with.

What is your favourite book and why?

What an impossible question! Ugh. It’s probably The Book of the New Sun by Gene Wolfe. Or Star Maker by Olaf Stapledon. Can’t I choose both? Both are profound meditations on history, science, mythology, religion, everything. Very complex, the whole universe is found within their pages.

Which writer inspires you the most?

Bill Bryson. He travels around the world, is interested in everything, and writes down everything he discovers on his journeys. And he makes it look so easy. I am inspired by him because he shows how many interesting stories the world holds, and the value of looking at the world so that it becomes a bit comical.

What was the first book you ever read?

The Hobbit, by JRR Tolkien. Well, of what I can consciously remember. I probably read stuff before that, I don’t know.

Who is your favourite character from any book, movie, tv show etc. and why?

Granny Weatherwax, from Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series. This character just has real… character. She’s comically strong headed and immensely proud, but her heart is in the right place. She pretends to be scary and dangerous, but never does anything more than just messing around with people’s heads.

What is your favourite literary/poetic quote?

“It is possible to believe that all the past is but the beginning of a beginning, and that all that is and has been is but the twilight of the dawn. It is possible to believe that all the human mind has ever accomplished is but the dream before the awakening.” H.G. Wells

What’s your favourite movie?

Probably The Big Lebowski. The more you see the movie, the more the characters become alive and part of you. Everything they do becomes funny, and they sort of create their own little universe in which everything is alright. At the end of the movie, nothing is accomplished and I love that. It is just what it is.

What is your favourite place in the entire world? And why?

My couch with a book. Boring, eh? There are lots of great places around the world but coming back home and digesting all those adventures is part of travelling. It wouldn’t be a vacation without coming home. Well, I really liked Slovenia. It has the natural beauty of New Zealand and the cultural beauty of Europe, thinly populated by friendly people, and with a mania for ice cream. New Zealand itself is a strong contender, but it is so isolated.

What place have you not visited but would you like to visit the most? And why?

The Iguazu Falls on the border between Brazil and Argentina. These are probably the most impressive waterfalls in the world. More than 300 falls, going down over two layers of earth. And it is in the middle of the jungle. It must be such an insanely complex thing of chaos and nature battling it out. I could probably spend a week zooming in with my camera on every little island and tree in the chaos of tumbling water. Damnit I need to go there!

What is your favourite time in history?

Honestly, the 90s. It was a golden age. Everything was peaceful. No terrorism, no economic problems. Of course, all these problems were hidden, invisible. But on the surface of the world, everything looked rosy and full of promise. I generally don’t want to go back too far in history because the farther back you go, the more violence and diseases. I’ll just mention that I would have liked to be there when Alexander the Great went east. He walked into the unknown, not knowing what was on the other side of the hills. That must have been exhilarating.

Tell me a random fact about you!

I’m not sure. About anything. I could write down some funny little thing, but… that feels like branding myself as a quirky, interesting guy. In reality though, it’s often a sort of mask that I hold up. Underneath I am melancholic sometimes. I search for something true and valuable to believe in. Sometimes I am preoccupied with thinking back to moments in my life when love and connection with another person failed and it touches me greatly. I search in those memories for some kind of truth to live by, as if I can pry some truth loose from those painful moments. But I never really get there. Then my perspective changes and I discover that a friend has been standing at my desk to talk about something. I am briefly tempted to say that I was thinking about life but they would probably find me weird.

On that bombshell, here is a photo of Slovenia:

slovenia

My nominations are:

Same questions to you! Here they are:

  • If you could only read one genre for the rest of your life, what genre would you choose?
  • What is your favourite book and why?
  • Which writer inspires you the most?
  • What was the first book you ever read?
  • Who is your favourite character from any book, movie, tv show etc. and why?
  • What is your favourite literary/poetic quote?
  • What’s your favourite movie?
  • What is your favourite place in the entire world? And why?
  • What place have you not visited but would you like to visit the most? And why?
  • What is your favourite time in history?
  • Tell me a random fact about you!

 

 

This entry was posted in Awards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Liebster Award!

  1. Remco says:

    If my gravatar would be a pillow, it would feel honoured to be on your couch.

    Like

  2. vinnieh says:

    Congrats on the award. I love reading your blog, you put so much passion into it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

