My blog is 1 year old!

My blog is 1 year old!

birthday cake

Thank you all so much, everyone who ever visited this blog! It is the sharing that makes it fun!

For this special occasion, I’d like to highlight 5 movie experiences and 5 book experiences of the past year that really stayed with me in a big way.

Movies! Yayy!

the holy mountain2

  1. The Holy Mountain (1975)

Another reviewer described this as “a blitzkrieg of dick jokes”. The Holy Mountain is that, and so much more. I had no idea what I was watching, but it was quite brilliant.

paprika3

  1. Paprika (2006)

The biggest reason for putting this one here is that I never managed to tear myself away from the background music of this film. Whenever I felt feverish or tired or energetic, this music would spontaneously arise in my mind and just not go away.

gods of egypt3

  1. Gods of Egypt (2016)

This just boggles my mind. I can’t believe that this film actually exists. It is so ridiculous that I can’t believe that this actually was produced. And what about the brain behind it? That must be a curious person.

the room2

  1. The Room (2003)

The enigma that is Tommy Wiseau has entered my life, there to stay forever. You’ve earned it, my friend. This movie will be studied in universities forever, if only to catch a glimpse of the psyche of Wiseau, who is probably from another planet.

lucy

  1. Lucy (2014)

Probably the most insulting movie I have ever seen. I can accept a lot. Hell, I even enjoy the ninja turtles movies. But this is too much.

Books! Yayy!

  1. Brian Catling – the Vorrh (2012)

A story about cyclopes in the African jungle? Surely one of the oddest books I have ever read.

  1. Michael Chabon – the Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay (2000)

What a grand work! Works on every level. Very touching. About superheroes and their creators.

  1. Jeff VanderMeer – Annihilation (2014)

It feels like a fantasy or a science fiction book, but whatever is strange in this book is not given an answer. VanderMeer toys with the nightmare of not understanding. It is creepy and tantalizing.

  1. Arthur Koestler – The Act of Creation (1964)

A book about the human race, really. About science, art and what it is that makes something genius. Such an intelligent writer.

  1. Kim Stanley Robinson – Aurora (2015)

I’ve never been so torn about a book before. It is in parts brilliant and in parts stupid. It has both the best and the worst chapters that I have read this year.

 

On towards another year of blogging. On towards the glorious future!

This entry was posted in Awards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My blog is 1 year old!

  1. Shealea Iral says:

    Congratulations on your first year! Here’s to more success and more fun blogging experiences!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on finishing a year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. vinnieh says:

    Congrats, the only way is up for your blog now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

