2016: books read overview

2016-books-read

Ever since I discovered reading somewhere around 2006 I have been playing catch-up with the last 150 years. Slowly but surely I am discovering all the classics of Fantasy and Science Fiction though, while the new ones just pile up. Unfortunately, I discovered that I am a rather slow reader (compared to many other bloggers and vloggers).

I’ve read only 2 books actually published in 2016: The Great Ordeal by R. Scott Bakker and This Census Taker by China Mieville. Hopefully I can get to other 2016 books next year, like Cixin Liu’s Death’s End and China Mieville’s The Last Days of New Paris. I also still mean to read the Prince of Fools trilogy by Mark Lawrence and the new trilogy by NK Jemisin.

Total Books Read:

  • 42 (36 fiction, 6 non-fiction)

Best Ones:

2016-books-read2

Also Pretty Good:

Disappointments:

  • Lee Martinez – Emperor Mollusk versus The Sinister Brain
  • Iain M. Banks – Against a Dark Background

Longest book read:

  • Neal Stephenson’s Seveneves (867 p.)

What do you think? Have you read any good books this year?

This entry was posted in Books, Lists and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2016: books read overview

  1. Bookstooge says:

    6 non-fiction!?!? man, now I feel inadequate 🙂
    Great job and I like this post. I’ve still got a couple more books to read/review before New Years, so I’m hoping to put my End of Year Post on New Years Eve.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your list! Lots of good books there! Good to see that ‘Oryx and Crake’ gets some love. The whole trilogy is pretty awesome, if you ask me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

